扫一扫,访问微社区

查看: 1634|回复: 0
打印 上一主题 下一主题

Making A SMD Reflow Oven

[复制链接]
跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2017-2-19 14:41:27 | 只看该作者 回帖奖励 |倒序浏览 |阅读模式

I have been an electronics hobbyist for many years and have always stuck with through-hole components when making a project. However as time goes by, not only are more and more components are becoming available only in SMD (surface mount device) but also more interesting projects are also SMD based.
There are several options for doing  your own SMD soldering:
Hand Soldering - Using a fine-tipped soldering iron and small-diameter solder you can work with the larger of the SMD devices. However it can be pretty tedious and take a long time if you have lots of parts.
Electric Frying Pan - This can work for smaller boards but the temperature control is pretty difficult so it can be hit and miss.
Toaster Oven - This seems the most promising for the hobbyist and while you can just wing it with the manual controls there are also a range of control options for automation and temperature control. This essentially mimics a commercial reflow oven.
I decided to put together a toaster oven and wanted something that could handle large boards and possibly do small production runs. Doing a web search, you will find many options for toaster oven reflow controllers. They range from one-off designs to DIY boards to full kits. A large number of them are Arduino based. Some controllers just allow the oven to plug in (so you don't need to take the oven apart) while others integrate completely inside the oven (more work but a much better product in the end).